Weekly Priority

College Application Week

GEARS Database

2017 Grant Database (GEARS)

Connect with GEAR UP Schools

  GEAR UP School GEAR UP Liaison Contact School Website
  Arlee Public Schools  Deanne Smith e: dsmith@arleeschools.org | p: 726-3216 ext: 2305  
  Box Elder Public Schools  Shari Ruff e: sruff@boxelder.k12.mt.us | p: 352-4195 ext: 5132  
  Browning Middle School  Nathan Stone e: nathans@bps.k12.mt.us | p: 338-2725 ext: 4921  
 

Browning High School

 Melanie Magee

 Marissa Krupa

e: melaniem@bps.k12.mt..us

e: mkrupa@bps.k12.mt.us | p: 338-2745 ext: 4355

 
  Hardin Middle School  Tim Hardy   e: tim.hardy@hardin.k12.mt.us | p: 665-6343  
  Hardin High School  Lance Olson e: lance.olson@hardin.k12.mt.us | p: 665-6406  
  Harlem Public Schools  Bonnie Nesslar e: bonnien@harlem-hs.k12.mt.us | p: 353-2289  
  Hays Lodge Pole Public Schools  Paul Condon

e: pcondon@hlpschools.k12.mt.us | p: 548-4723

 
  Heart ButtePublic Schools

 Pat Calf Boss Ribs

Micahel "Ray" Weasel Head

e: patc@heartbutte.k12.mt.us | p: 338-3344 ext: 237

e: michaelw@heartbutte.k12.mt.us | p: 338-3344 ext: 237

 
  Lame DeerPublic Schools  Adriann Killsnight e: adriann.killsnight@lamedeer.k12.mt.us | p: 477-8901 ext: 1217  
  LibbyPublic Schools   Deanna Malyevac e: malyevacd@libbyschools.org | p: 293-8802 ext: 1951  
  Lodge GrassPublic Schools  Tena Three Irons e: tena.threeirons@lodgegrass.k12.mt.us | p: 639-2736  
  PryorPublic Schools  Talitha Goes Ahead e: talithagoesahead@pryorstaff.org | p: 259-7329  
  Rocky BoyPublic Schools  Sapphire Carter e: sapphirec@rockyboy.k12.mt.us | p: 395-4474 ext: 223  
  St. IgnatiusPublic Schools  Alan Pule e: apule@stignatiusschools.org | p: 745-3811ext: 265  
  St. Regis Public Schools  Jennifer Pruitt e: pruittjennifer@stregis.k12.mt.us | p: 649-2311  
  SuperiorPublic Schools  Toni Labbe  e: tlabbe@ssd3.us | p: 822-3600 ext: 114 School page
  Thompson FallsPublic Schools  Penny Beckman e: pbeckman@tfalls.org | p: 827-3593 ext: 7069  
  TroyPublic Schools  Jessica Knapp e: jknapp@troyk12.org | p: 295-4520 ext: 2126  

Who do I contact with questions concerning...

Contact Sam Garetson | sgaretson@montana.edu | 406-449-9140

  • Capacity Building Workshop, NCCEP, GEAR UP West
  • Youth Leadership Academy, Youth Leadership Summit
  • Entering grades, coursework, demographics, new students, transfering students, general data uploads
  • Orders & Ideas for T-shirts, Planners
  • Student, Parent, & Educator Surveys
  • Web Updates

Contact Karen Wilson | kwilson@montana.edu | 406-449-9144

  • What forms to use
  • How to write a budget
  • How to enter services
  • What is the current rate on per diem, travel, etc.
  • Amendement requests
  • Training

Contact Kelly Hert | khert@montana.edu | 406-449- 9147

  • How to complete budget tracking sheets
  • What to include in fiscal report
  • What can be used as match

Contact Travis Anderson | tanderson@motana.edu | 406-449-9139

  • Assessments - Aspire, ACT, Pre-Act, Tessera
  • Statre spomsored summer camps

 

Liaison Resources

Connect

 

Calendar DOWNLOAD - due dates, professional development opportunities, events & more. Scroll down for LIVE Calendar.

List of Montana High School Counselors

List of First Year Service Coordinators

Send us your PII through Montana Securemail

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for trainings videos on ACT, Data & Service Entry, Budgets & more. To access videos click on Playlists.

Professional Development

Montana Office of Public Instruction has a large selection of learning opportunities that may align with GEAR UP objectives and be included in Implementation Plans. Use their Portal to search options

Youth Opportunities

Youth Leadership Academy

First Year Freshman Services

GEAR UP T-Shirt Design Contest

FAFSA Assistance Page

Travel

These forms are for state-sponsored PD events, not those included in your school IP/Budget. If you are new to the program please complete a W-9 so we may process you in our payments database. 

Travel Forms for School Reimbursement (State-Sponsored Travel)

District Reimbursement Form

OCHE Non-Employee Travel Policy

Travel Reimbursement Cheat Sheet

Your GEAR UP school district must complete and submit this District Reimbursement form within 30 days of the event. Montana GEAR UP will reimburse expenses related to the event per State of Montana/OCHE guidelines, which include but are not limited to:

  • Mileage expenses at the current state rate of one vehicle per every three participants,
  • Lodging at the current state rate or the hotel conference rate if state rate is unavailable
  • Meals at the current state rate not covered by the event.

Reimbursement will not be greater than the current state allowable rates, even if the district reimbursement rate is higher.

 

Survey Center

Parent Consent Forms. 9/1 - Ongoing

Consent forms are necessary for the evalaution team to survey studens. The consent forms cover the entire grant period, so these only need to be sent to parents of NEW students in GEAR UP (i.e., new seventh-grade students for cohort schools, and any students in other grade levels served by GEAR UP who are new to the school or who do not have a consent form on file). Target Response Rate 100%

Parent Survey. 3/1/2021 - 5/1/2021

The purpose of the Parent Survey is to gauge the knowledge, attitudes, and experiences of parents/guardians in order to measure and increase the effectiveness of GEAR UP at your school and around the state. The target response rate for parent surveys is 50%.

1. Read instructions

2. Survey 50% of parents.

  • Print PDF versions 
  • Online 

3. Return paper surveys to Education Northwest. See the instructions in Step 1 for details.

Contact Education Northwest to obtain an updated list of your survey completion numbers 

Educator Survey, 5/1/2021 - 6/1/2021

Administer the educator survey to all school staff at your school. The more educators you are able to reach, the more representative and informative your survey results will be. 

1. Read instructions

2. Survey ALL educators.

  • Print PDF (sample only)
  • Online:

Contact Education Northwest to obtain an updated list of your survey completion numbers 

Student Survey, 3/1/2021 - 5/1/2021

We strongly encourage surveying students online. The more GEAR UP students you are able to reach, the more representative and informative your survey results will be. The target response rate for student surveys is 85%.

1.Read instructions

2. Survey 85% students.

  • Print PDF
  • Online:

3. Return paper surveys to Education Northwest. See instructions in Step 1 for details

Contact Education Northwest to obtain an updated list of your survey completion numbers 

Senior Exit Survey, 5/1/2021 - 6/15/2021

The GEAR UP Senior Exit Survey gathers information about students' postsecondary plans and preparations. It also asks for contact information in order to get required academic course information from first-year college students and follow up with all graduates next year. The more seniors you are able to reach, the easier it will be to get this information and learn how to better prepare students for life after high school.

1.Read instructions

2. Survey ALL seniors.

3. Once all of your seniors have completed the survey, please email Sam Garetson to get the results for your school.

Toolkits

GEAR UP Quick Guide

GEAR UP Week

Financial Aid 101

Transitional Year Student/Family Handouts

MUS Academic Requirements

College Feshman Handout

Virtual Meetings Best Practice

College Scavenger Hunt

Montana Colleges Map


Fall Planning Meeting 2020

 

Introductions - (0:00 - 34:00)

School Showcases - (34:25 - 1:03:50)

7th Year Services - (1:26:00 - 1:52:30)

Student Success Agency - (1:53:00 - 2:55:00)

Emily Sallee - Trauma-Informed (3:55:51-4:54:40)

Crash Course Board Game Demo

Live Calendar

GEAR UP Schools Map

Scroll over the blue labels to view liaison contact information. Tribal Colleges listed with a maroon icon.