2020 MUS Teaching Scholars Announced

MUS Teaching Scholars

Program Overview

The Montana University System (MUS) Teaching Scholars program identifies and celebrates those faculty whose commitment to teaching and learning exemplifies the kind of high-quality educational experiences that have become a signature part of public higher education in Montana. Every year, a select group of faculty (tenure and non-tenure track) are awarded and recognized as MUS Teaching Scholars for their exemplary contributions to teaching and learning at MUS campuses.

As part of the initiative’s goal, the MUS Teaching Scholars program also seeks to contribute to a system-wide culture of excellence by supporting faculty at all stages of their careers in developing communities of practices around MUS priorities for teaching and learning, including and especially making the promise of higher education accessible and achievable for a diverse student body. As part of building communities of practice, Teaching Scholars design and facilitate a faculty learning community (FLC) around the annual MUS Teaching Scholars theme, contribute scholarship and reflections on teaching and learning, and participate in system-wide MUS Teaching Scholars activities such as speaker series, and, starting in Fall 2021, the annual MUS Teaching and Learning Symposium.