Proposed Revisions to 320.1 - Accreditation Recognition; Proprietary Institutions




Statutory authority:


                        "The following are exempt from the provisions of this act (Proprietary Post-Secondary Educational Institutions - - Licensing):


                        (1)  any program or course of instruction of an institution accredited by a national or regional accrediting agency recognized by the board of regents of higher education and notification of such recognition having been given to the department by the board; . . . ."  20-30-102 MCA.


Board policy:


            1.  Pursuant to the provisions of 20-30-102 MCA, the Board of Regents of Higher Education recognizes only accreditation by the six regional accrediting associations and the national professional accrediting associations which require, as a condition of membership, accreditation by one of the six regional accrediting associations.


            2.  Such recognition shall apply only to those courses, programs and degrees which were specifically examined and approved by the accrediting agency as extension, continuing education, off-campus or external degree offerings.




            The six regional accrediting associations are:


            New England Association of Schools and Colleges;

            Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools;

            North Central Association of Colleges and Schools;

            Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges;

            Southern Association of Colleges and Schools;

            Western Association of Schools and Colleges






                Item 15-001-R1276, Dec. 13, 1976 as revised July 10, 1978, March 19, 1981 (1981 Mont. Laws, Ch. 94).